Former OSU RB Terry Miller to Be Inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

January 8, 2022

Another all-time great Cowboy is set to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Terry Miller, the two-time All-American and OSU’s second-leading all-time rusher, will be inducted as part of the Hall of Fame’s 2022 class.

Miller was one of only three players in Big Eight history to rush for more than 4,000 yards in his career. The other two were Nebraska’s Mike Rozier and fellow Cowboy inductee Thurman Thomas. Miller is the only running back in school history to record three 1,000-yard rushing seasons. He led the Big Eight in rushing in 1976 and 1977, his junior and senior seasons, winning Big Eight Offensive Player of the Year both years.

His 4,754 rushing yards ranks second in school history behind only Thurman Thomas, and Miller’s 113.2 yards-per-game average and 49 total rushing touchdowns each rank behind only Barry Sanders.

Miller twice finished in the Top 5 in Heisman voting, finishing runner-up to Texas’ Earl Campbell in 1977. He is one of only 23 players to ever finish in the Top 5 of Heisman voting twice and the only one in that list that is not already in the hall of fame.

He was a first-team All-American by the Associated Press and Football Writers and a second-team selection by the UPI in 1976 and a unanimous first-team selection in 1977.

Miller was the driving force behind the 1976 Big Eight champion Cowboys and helped Jim Stanley’s teams earn wins in the 1974 Fiesta Bowl and the 1976 Tangerine Bowl. In the latter he racked up 173 yards and four touchdowns as the Pokes blew out BYU 49-21.

He was selected fifth overall in the 1978 NFL Draft by the Buffalo Bills and replaced O.J. Simpson as the Bills’ starter. He rushed for 1,060 yards his rookie season. He played three seasons for Buffalo and one in Seattle before retiring after the 1981 season.

Other members of the hall’s 2022 class are Colorado running back Rashaan Salaam, Florida State linebacker Marvin Jones, Oklahoma defensive back Roy Williams and former Missouri head coach Gary Pinkel, according to Action Sports’ Brett McMurphy.

Miller is the fourth Cowboy to received such an honor joining Bob Fenimore, Barry Sanders and Thurman Thomas. The class of 2022 will be inducted on Dec. 6.

The post Former OSU RB Terry Miller to Be Inducted into College Football Hall of Fame appeared first on Pistols Firing.