Gundy Coach of the Year, Six Cowboys Make All-Big 12 First Team

December 2, 2021

Mike Gundy is the Big 12 Coach of the Year for the second time.

The Big 12 released its season honors on Thursday, as voted on by the coaches, and three Oklahoma State representatives took home individual hardware. Gundy was named the Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year, Jaylen Warren is the Offensive Newcomer of the Year and Collin Oliver is the Defensive Freshman of the Year.

The Cowboys also had six players on the All-Big 12 First Team, including quarterback Spencer Sanders. Josh Sills, Brock Martin, Malcolm Rodriguez, Jarrick Bernard-Converse and Kolby Harvell-Peel were also selected to the All-Big 12 First Team.

Tay Martin, Brennan Presley, Oliver and Christian Holmes made the All-Big 12 Second Team.

This is just the second time Mike Gundy has won the Big 12 Coach of the Year award after doing so in 2010 (Bill Snyder won the award in 2011). Gundy joins Matt Campbell, Bob Stoops, Snyder, Mack Brown and Frank Solich as the only multiple-time winners of the Big 12 Coach of the Year award. Only Gundy and Pat Jones (Big Eight Coach of the Year in 1984 and 1992) have won multiple Coach of the Year awards at Oklahoma State.

A transfer from Utah State, Warren has rushed for 1,134 yards and 11 touchdowns in his first season in the conference. He is the eighth Cowboy to win a conference Offensive Newcomer of the Year award, joining Mike Gundy (1986), Shannon Culver (1992), Andre Richardson (1994), Mike Hamilton (2005), Adarius Bowman (2006), Tyreek Hill (2014) and Justice Hill (2016).

Of the 11 awards dished out Thursday, Oliver was the only unanimous vote. Oliver’s 9.5 sacks is best on the team and ranks third in the Big 12. He becomes just the third Cowboy to win Defensive Freshman of the Year, joining Andre Sexton (2006) and Shaun Lewis (2010).

There was a notable omission for the Cowboys in that Rodriguez was not named the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. That honor went to Baylor’s Jalen Pitre.

Sanders is the first Cowboy quarterback to be a first-team all-conference selection since Brandon Weeden in 2010. Sanders has thrown for 2,211 yards and 16 touchdowns this season while also rushing for 510 yards and six scores.

Big 12 Honors

Offensive Player of the Year: Breece Hall, Iowa State, RB, Jr.
Defensive Player of the Year: Jalen Pitre, Baylor, DB, Sr.
Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Jaylen Warren, Oklahoma State, RB, Sr.
Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Siaki Ika, Baylor, DL, So.
Offensive Freshman of the Year: Xavier Worthy, Texas, WR
Defensive Freshman of the Year: Collin Oliver, Oklahoma State, DE
Special Teams Player of the Year: Trestan Ebner, Baylor, Sr.
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Connor Galvin, Baylor, Sr.
Co-Defensive Linemen of the Year: Will McDonald IV, Iowa State, Jr./Felix Anudike-Uzomah, Kansas State, So.
Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year: Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State (17th year)

All-Big 12 First Team

QB – Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State
RB – Breece Hall, Iowa State
RB – Bijan Robinson, Texas
FB – Jeremiah Hall, Oklahoma 
FB – Jared Rus, Iowa State
WR – Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State
WR – Quentin Johnston, TCU
WR – Xavier Worthy, Texas
TE – Charlie Kolar, Iowa State
OL – Connor Galvin, Baylor
OL – Trevor Downing, Iowa State
OL – Cooper Beebe, Kansas State
OL – Josh Sills, Oklahoma State
OL – Derek Kerstetter, Texas
PK – Jonathan Garlbay, Texas Tech
KR/PR – Trestan Ebner, Baylor
KR/PR – Malik Knowles, Kansas State
DL – Will McDonald IV, Iowa State
DL – Eyioma Uwazurike, Iowa State
DL – Felix Anudike, Kansas State
DL – Brock Martin, Oklahoma State
DL – Dante Stills, West Virginia
LB – Terrel Bernard, Baylor
LB – Mike Rose, Iowa State
LB – Malcolm Rodriguez, Oklahoma State
DB – Jalen Pitre, Baylor
DB – Russ Yeast, Kansas State
DB – Jarrick Bernard-Converse, Oklahoma State 
DB – Kolby Harvell-Peel, Oklahoma State 
DB – Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU
P – Michael Turk, Oklahoma
P – Cameron Dicker, Texas

All-Big 12 Second Team

QB – Brock Purdy, Iowa State
RB – Abram Smith, Baylor
RB – Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State
FB – Jax Dineen, Kansas State 
WR – Tyquan Thornton, Baylor
WR – Tay Martin, Oklahoma State
WR – Erik Ezukanma, Texas Tech
TE – Chase Allen, Iowa State
OL – Colin Newell, Iowa State
OL – Marquis Hayes, Oklahoma 
OL – Steve Avila, TCU
OL – Dawson Deaton, Texas Tech
OL – Zach Frazier, West Virginia
PK – Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma
KR/PR – Brennan Presley, Oklahoma State 
KR/PR – Derius Davis, TCU
DL – Siaki Ika, Baylor
DL – Kyron Johnson, Kansas 
DL – Isaiah Thomas, Oklahoma
DL – Perrion Winfrey, Oklahoma
DL – Collin Oliver, Oklahoma State
DL – Ochaun Mathis, TCU
LB – Brian Asamoah, Oklahoma 
LB – Nik Bonitto, Oklahoma
LB – Colin Schooler, Texas Tech
DB – Isheem Young, Iowa State
DB – Kenny Logan Jr., Kansas
DB – Delarrin Turner-Yell, Oklahoma
DB – Christian Holmes, Oklahoma State
DB – DaMarcus Fields, Texas Tech
P – Austin McNamara, Texas Tech

Oklahoma State’s Honorable Mentions

Tanner Brown (PK), Logan Carter (FB), Braden Cassity (TE), Danny Godlevske (OL), Blaine Green (OFoY), Devin Harper (LB), Tom Hutton (P, STPoY), Tyler Lacy (DL), Brock Martin (DLoY), Malcolm Rodriguez (DPoY), Josh Sills (OLoY), Jason Taylor II (DB), Jaylen Warren (RB, OPoY), Hunter Woodard (OL)

The post Gundy Coach of the Year, Six Cowboys Make All-Big 12 First Team appeared first on Pistols Firing.